h1

Mepis 6.0

July 25, 2006

Whilst tinkering with Mepis on Saturday, I accessed the Mepis Lover’s site, and noticed they had announced the release of 6.0.  The version I was tinkering with was 3.3, which is older than the one previous to 6.0 which was 3.4-3 (which was screwy numbering, even for Linux).  So yeah, I’m a bit behind.  But I’m also ahead.  Reviewers are just now catching up to some stuff that I’ve been saying all along the past few weeks about this distro. 

 

Some noteworthy converts are Rees, E@syVG, and Gerald CortezThe latter has an awesome in-depth review with screen shots.  All of these folks have some good input that is worth reading.  In fact, their raves have me getting kind of excited about getting myself a copy of this thing to see for myself how much of an improvement it is.  But I have a thing or two yet to learn before implementing some of the cool things I’ve learned, especially from Rees.

 

First of all, I did try to download 6.0 from an ftp site and for some reason I never got the full thing.  I was running Firefox and without a download manager, I really had no idea where I was in the download process.  The second thing I have to learn is burning that CD so it will act like a live CD instead of a beverage coaster.  I have successfully burned files using the older Mepis (in live CD mode, no less) so this might be easy once I manage to get the whole file.  Then again, we’re talking about a machine that rarely seems easy to a noob like me. 

 

The whole downloading and installing of repositories is something I’m fine with while using that high speed connection at work.  But then I have my crippled modem-bound machine at home.  When I download Windows programs at work,.I burn them on a CD and then go ahead and install them at home.  I have a couple of CDs with basic software apps I can reload if I have to reformat.  Synaptic did the downloading and installing in one fell swoop, which is sort of nice in one case, but inconvenient if I have a machine that is not on the network.

 

Hmmm.  I suppose I could take my home machine to work and plug it into the network…

 

Just thinking aloud, here.  Or thinking and writing at the same time.  I like having everything I like on a CD, though, even though it is out there in a repository somewhere.  But maybe that’s just me. 

 

In any case, I’m glad to see Mepis getting some attention and seeing that my view of it is not so far off base as a distro worth more than at least 2 of the distros that were sitting above it in the Distrowatch list.

 

I also have another story  on my teacher blog about trying to give away those Ubuntu CD’s.  Those things will probably get me in trouble before the year is out!

 

dick

3 comments

  1. “which is older than the one previous to 6.0 which was 3.4-3 (which was screwy numbering, even for Linux)”

    You think that’s bad? Slackware went from 3.0 to 10.0!

    On the subject of downloading programs at work, you could just do what I do. Any packages that are downloaded by Synaptic or Apt are kept in a folder called /var/cache/apt/archives. Just burn these to a CD (or pop them on a USB thumbstick) and run all of the .deb files when you get home. There is a command line for installing them, but I know you’re trying to avoid the command line so I won’t go into that!


  2. I’m sure 6.0 was them getting in line with Ubuntu’s 6.06 version number. I’ll see about getting the programs on my jumpdrive/memory card as Mepis seems to readily recognize those. But, yeah, I’m not keen on command lines. I could probably do it if there was no other way, but I consider that a sign of weakness in the software. Mepis is being marketed for newbies like me, so going into Unix mode would go against the spirit of that.

    dick


  3. I see what you’re saying about the command line. Unfortunately, the people who are best with Linux are old Unix experts, and old habits die hard!

    Thankfully, Linux distributions definately seem to be improving in this respect. As recently as 2 years ago I remember having no choice but to use the command line for things like setting network and soundcard configuration, and having to manually configure my graphics card for X. The manual mounting of disks was another big pain that they seem to have improved on lately.



Leave a Reply

