h1

My New Desktop Computers Have Arrived

September 21, 2006

Ghengis Khan, the building IT guy came and delivered 2 machines, each with 512 RAM, 2.8 GHz Pentium Ds and 60 MB HDD along with new 17″ CRT monitors.  these really are lovely machines and the paras “Oooohed” and “Aaahhhed”  over the DVD- ROM and the speed of these things.  

Mr. Khan and his assistant were in a massive hurry so there wasn’t much time to chat.  No, he had not had time to play with the Ubuntu disk.  He didn’t even bother loading the printer or scanner drivers, opting to give me administrator access.  This is lovely, but I still have no idea how to get to the place where I can load and install software.  The first thing I did was to try to install the latest version of Firefox, since the system insists on clinging to IE6.  It wouldn’t let me install it and kept telling me I wasn’t authorized to install.  but I knew I was!

This illustrates perfectly how with any machine, even with an operating system I know well, that there is a learning curve and a level of frustration.  In this case, trying to get around Windows XP Professional when i was more used to the “Home” edition.  There was no control panel to speak of, but I found bits and pieces here and there.  Everything I saw said I had total control over my machine, but reality proved otherwise.  I refuse to run IE6 unless I’m forced into it, and since this machine is my main one, I needed another plan.

And you can already guess what it is.  

What?

No, I said you could guess!  That doesn’t mean I’m going to tell you!  I’m using it right now, FYI.  I’m not sure what the “Hemlock” program does in MS windows but I just don’t like the sound of it.

Anyway, I had managed to back up my files just as Mr. Khan brought the machines in.  Getting a few megs of info off of a Win98SE machine is easier said than done.  It did not recognize any of my flash drives and doesn’t have a CD burner.  So I used a certain LiveCD which was able to see my flash drive and the HDD and backed up the stuff I needed to get.  Mr. Khan ended up leaving the machine here anyway, so I may still have to use it until I can figure out how to get the scanner and printer loaded.

Next stop, home with my laptop to see if that modem will work.

Got my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

