h1

Yucky Wine

November 29, 2006

The biggest problem that I had, up to a point, with Wine and Puppy was finding a version for Puppy.  And mike gave me a god idea with the forums. [DOH!]  so
I found what were touted to be the most stable version of the various files and downloaded them.  I then attempted to install them.

 

Okay, this is the major problem with Linux that I thought I had somehow escaped and gotten past.  I mean I got my modem working and had played with several distros.  I sort of fell for the Puppy but now I’m having second thoughts.

 

I didn’t write down the error messages, and sorry I can’t be more specific, but the Pup did not like these new files AT ALL.  I had gotten an earlier version of Wine to sort of work on the old machine I had put an older version of Mepis on.  I thought I knew what I was doing but knowledge of one distro does not always readily transfer to another one.  I can see the benefit of this when it comes to escaping a virus or malware (who’s going to write malicious code for EVERY distro?!?). 

 

The other problem besides the thing obviously not installing and working are the problems describing the process of it not working.  Maybe it’s just me, but I have a hard time figuring out exactly WHAT the problem is.  I click on the bone icon (the dotpup packages), expecting stuff to happen and I’m not sure if it did or not.  I click the Wine icon and it opens a window and then closes.  Or nothing happens.  Or I get so far as to a point where it wants to be configured and then it closes when I try to set up sound.  No error, it just closes.  And then I have to start over.  Or I might get an error message that I totally am clueless as to what it means.  And I thought MS could be cryptic.

 

No I did not memorize or write down each and every little thing.  I am a lazy Windows user, remember!  I am clueless and a nOOb!

 

At the moment, I have this delicate configuration of 4 different machines running 4 different OS versions that can do what I need to get done.  It would be really, really nice to have one machine (or better yet, all 4) that was proficient enough to perform as needed with all the different hardware and software that I have.  This seems to be asking too much.  Okay, what I have works for the moment. I’ll just let some hair grow back or wait until necessity drives me to mess around some more!LOL!

 dick

 

One comment

  1. It has been my experience that WINE is a complex beast to get working. I’ve been lucky not to have any problems since converting to a source-based distro, since it makes compiling from source [which is how these are distributed, anyways] rather simple.

    Either way, since WINE is such a complex beast to get running, it’s often better to do it from the console. Here’s what I do:

    ### This line builds the .wine directory in your home folder
    # wine

    ### This runs the test program, notepad
    # wine c:/windows/system32/notepad.exe

    Now, if the first one runs, WINE is installed. If the second one runs, WINE is installed and functional. Getting other programs to work… that’s a different matter.

    WINE just left Alpha… it’s not too polished right now – but that’s not what they are after, anyways.

    And when trying to get this working, yes, hair loss is inevitable. Afterwards you become cocky and insult people who don’t succeed. That’s the fun part. (Actually, the fun part is knowing you were there when the world changed.)

    ~Mike



Leave a Reply

