h1

Screen Capture and Video Editing for Linux

December 31, 2008

I’ve been bemoaning the lack of video-creating support for Linux and apparently, I’m not the only one.  I just caught Steven Vaughan-Nichols’ recent article on the subject and I had wanted to add screen recording to my wish-list of 2009. It sure would be nice if CamStudio were ported to Linux.  But now I think I might not have to.  There are a couple of web apps that might just fit the bill.

ScreenToaster and Screen-O-Matic are two web-based screen recorders that look promising, as long as the microphone functions properly.  And I have yet to test either of these programs nor have I tested my mic in Linux.

As far as I can tell, neither of these have done a lot of testing with Linux.  I saw where Screen-O-Matic claimed minor issues with RedHat Fedore Core 3 with Firefox 2.0, which looks like an old configuration to me.  For Vista, XP and Mac it was all good with Firefox.    So this post serves as a sort of placeholder for me when I want to try this out, as well as an invitation to the rest of you to try it and then let the rest of us know how it works.

And this might be the answer to more and more of the typical Linux woes.  There were several attempts to try online non-linear video editiong in 2007, but most of those are gone as of the end of 2008.  The most promising, so far, looks like it might be JayCut.   Unlike the now defunct YouTube mixer and Jumpcut (which was bought and then abandoned by Yahoo) it does allow downloading of the finished product.  The online video editing is still in its infancy, but perhaps in 2009 there might be something better that comes out for orphaned Linux users who are not using the DOS-like command line.

For screencasting and video editing, the ability to download the finished product is key.  As demonstrated by the Jumpcut fiasco, it is too easy for an outfit to be abandoned and then you can lose all your stuff.  That particular move by Yahoo indicates to me that they might deserve to be bought out by Microsoft.

I’m looking forward to seeing what new discoveries I can make with Linux in 2009.  My 2009 wishlist includes:

1. Simple and stable nonlinear video editor

2. Simple screen recorder with the possibility of adding annotations ala Camstudio

3. A Linux capable of finding my Dell laptop webcam

4. A more complete WINE capable of running at least all of the old Win98 programs instead of trying to keep up with the latest stuff.  I have a ton of old apps and games that could use a new lease on life with my kids.

5. A painless way to export my Thunderbird and Firefox settings to either windows or to another machine or just so I can upgrade to another Linux distro.  Mandriva has worked okay on my Dell Vostro 1500 but I’d like to try the latest Mepis without losing all my stuff.

Leave a Reply

